Best Scratching Posts for Kittens (and Cats): A Buyer’s Guide (2026)
A buyer's guide built from specifications, warranties and return policies, not hands-on testing. Facts and prices checked October 19, 2026. We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes what we recommend. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we research
The best scratching post for a kitten is a sturdy one that’s already tall enough for the cat your kitten will become. Cornell’s Feline Health Center says a post should be at least as tall as your cat standing on its hind legs with its front legs stretched up, and heavy enough that it doesn’t tip over. A rough surface such as sisal suits most cats. Young kittens may also like a low, angled or flat cardboard scratcher, which takes less force to use.
This is a buyer’s guide built from the makers’ published specifications, warranties and return policies, checked on Oct 19, 2026. It is not a hands-on test: we didn’t buy, handle or try any of these scratchers.
The short answer
- Best overall: SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post (32-inch woven sisal post on a 16 x 16 inch base).
- Tallest: Amazon Basics Sturdy Scratching Post, Large (35.4 inches, jute fiber).
- Premium pick: Purrfect Post Deluxe (31.5 inches; sisal fabric on the post and the base, for upright and flat scratching).
- Flat or angled cardboard: Purrfect Angle (corrugated insert; sits flat or tilted).
- Kittens start scratching at around 5 weeks, so have a post ready on day one, near where your kitten sleeps.
What vets and cat welfare groups say a scratching post needs
Scratching isn’t bad behavior. Cats scratch to shed the worn outer layer of their claws, stretch and exercise their front legs and back, and leave scent and visual marks (International Cat Care; FelineVMA). You can’t stop it, so the goal is to give your kitten something better to scratch than the sofa.
Tall enough for a full stretch. Cornell says a post should be at least as tall as your cat standing on its hind legs with its front legs reaching up. iCatCare gives the same rule and adds that if your adult cat got a short post as a kitten, it’s time to buy a taller one. The ASPCA notes that most cats like a post tall enough to stretch out fully, which may be why they like drapes. For a kitten, buying adult height now saves buying twice.
Sturdy, with a heavy base. All cats want a post that won’t move or collapse, the ASPCA says. iCatCare warns that some scratchers are too light, so they slide around and give too little resistance, and cats may ignore them. AAHA says a scratcher should be firmly anchored for the same reason.
A rough surface. Cornell suggests sisal or a similar rope-like material for cats that go for sofas and other nubby fabrics, and a carpet-covered post for cats that scratch carpet. FelineVMA lists sisal rope, rough fabric, cardboard and wood as options. The San Francisco SPCA says sisal is tough and long-lasting, while claws can catch in carpet loops and put a cat off a post. (iCatCare finds no evidence that a carpet post teaches a cat to scratch your carpets.)
Upright and flat options. Some cats rear up and pull down; others stretch out along the floor. Cornell and the SF SPCA suggest watching which your kitten does. iCatCare says kittens and older cats may prefer softer surfaces, such as large angled or flat cardboard scratchers, because they take less force.
| What to look for | Why it matters | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Adult height | Room for a full stretch, now and later | Cornell, iCatCare, ASPCA, AAHA |
| Heavy, stable base | A post that wobbles or tips gets ignored | Cornell, iCatCare, ASPCA |
| Sisal or rough fabric | Tough, and claws don’t snag | Cornell, SF SPCA, FelineVMA |
| Cardboard option | Softer for young kittens; flat or angled | iCatCare, SF SPCA |
| Right place | Near the bed and the spot being scratched | Cornell, FelineVMA, iCatCare |
| Enough of them | One per cat, plus one | iCatCare |
Four scratchers that meet the criteria
Every spec below comes from the maker’s own page (Amazon’s listing for the Amazon Basics post, since Amazon makes it). We only included products whose maker publishes the height or size and the scratching material.
| Scratcher | Type | Height | Surface |
|---|---|---|---|
| SmartCat Ultimate | Upright post | 32 in | Woven sisal |
| Amazon Basics Large | Upright post | 35.4 in | Jute fiber |
| Purrfect Post Deluxe | Post on a flat base | 31.5 in | Sisal fabric |
| Purrfect Angle | Flat or angled | Not stated | Corrugated cardboard |
1. Best overall: SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post
Pioneer Pet’s SmartCat post checks the main boxes: a 32-inch post, which the maker says lets cats stretch fully, on a 16 x 16 inch base meant to stop tipping and wobbling. It is covered in woven sisal, and Pioneer Pet says it beats carpeted posts that can snag claws. It assembles with screws and dowels; the base comes in two parts.
- Size: 32-inch post, 16 x 16 inch base.
- Colors: beige and gray.
- Warranty and returns: no warranty listed. Pioneer Pet doesn’t sell this post on its own store, so its 30-day return policy for direct orders doesn’t apply; the retailer’s policy does.
Best for: most kittens and cats, as a first post that’s still tall enough when they’re grown.
Watch out for: it’s an upright post only, so a kitten that likes to scratch flat on the floor may want a cardboard scratcher too.
See the SmartCat Ultimate Scratching Post (beige) on Amazon · See it in gray on Amazon
2. Tallest: Amazon Basics Sturdy Scratching Post, Large
The large Amazon Basics post is the tallest here at 35.4 inches, on a wood base that Amazon says helps keep it from tipping. The post is wrapped in natural jute fiber, and it comes with a replaceable dangling toy.
- Size: 15.75 x 15.75 x 35.43 inches; 16.09 lb, per the listing.
- Other heights: 31.5 and 16.5 inches. The 16.5-inch one is too short for most adult cats to stretch out on.
- Warranty: Amazon’s limited warranty for Amazon Basics covers defects in materials and workmanship for 1 year.
Best for: long or large cats, and kittens of breeds that grow big.
Watch out for: jute is a different fiber from sisal; if your cat ignores it, try a sisal post. The listing’s title mentions sisal rope, but its description says jute.
See the Amazon Basics Sturdy Scratching Post (35.4-inch) on Amazon
3. Premium pick: Purrfect Post Deluxe
Purrfect Post makes its posts by hand in the USA. The Deluxe stands 31.5 inches tall on what the maker calls a double-thick, heavy base built not to topple. Sisal fabric covers both the post and the base, so a cat can scratch upright or flat on one piece. Replacement posts and bases are sold separately.
- Size: 31.5 inches tall; the maker shows the other dimensions only in its photos.
- Returns: 60 days from delivery for a refund minus shipping, if you call for a return authorization first; you pay to ship it back.
- Where to buy: the maker’s own store. We found no Purrfect Post listing on Amazon on Oct 19, 2026.
Best for: a kitten that scratches both ways, and owners who want one post that lasts.
Watch out for: the maker says the post was designed by a veterinarian, its founder. That’s the maker’s description, not an independent test.
Purrfect Post’s own Deluxe page
4. Flat or angled cardboard: Purrfect Angle
For young kittens, iCatCare suggests a softer, flat or angled cardboard scratcher. The Purrfect Angle holds a dense corrugated insert in a solid wood frame and can sit flat or tilted, so a cat can scratch horizontally or at an angle. The insert is reversible and replaceable, and a sisal insert is sold as an option. The maker says the frame is designed not to tip the way many cardboard scratchers do.
- Size: not stated in the page text.
- Returns: the same 60-day policy as the Deluxe.
- Where to buy: the maker’s own store; not on Amazon when we checked.
Best for: small kittens, and cats that scratch rugs and carpets lying down.
Watch out for: cardboard sheds bits as it’s used, and the SF SPCA notes that some cats chew it. Take it away if yours does.
Purrfect Post’s own Purrfect Angle page
How we chose, and what we left out
- We started from the vet and welfare criteria above, then read each maker’s product and policy pages on Oct 19, 2026. For Amazon links we opened each product’s own Amazon page, which showed it in stock.
- We left out SmartCat’s Bootsie’s Combination Scratcher (out of stock at the maker, not found on Amazon), SmartyKat’s Super Scratcher (sold out, no size listed), Catstages Scratch & Groom (no product page on its maker’s site), PetFusion’s lounge scratcher (its website no longer works) and unbranded posts with no maker page.
- Four is the honest number: we don’t add products we can’t justify.
- Prices change daily, so we don’t show any. For what a post and the other first supplies cost, see our new kitten checklist.
How to get a kitten to use the post
Kittens start scratching at around 5 weeks of age, iCatCare says, so most come home already doing it. Bringing a kitten home at the right age means you’ll be teaching a habit, not starting one.
- Put it where your kitten sleeps. Cats often scratch when they wake up, so a post near the bed gets used (FelineVMA, SF SPCA).
- And where it already scratches. Cornell suggests a post right beside the spot your kitten is scratching, moved slowly to where you want it. One near each spot if there are several.
- Reward every use. Treats, praise or gentle strokes when your kitten scratches the post (Cornell, FelineVMA). Catnip on the post or a wand toy played around its base helps too (iCatCare, ASPCA).
- Never force its paws onto the post. It frightens cats and can put them off the post, and you (iCatCare, ASPCA).
- Never punish. If your kitten scratches the sofa, pick it up gently, take it to the post and reward it there (FelineVMA). Covering the sofa corner with a thick blanket or sticky plastic film for a while helps (iCatCare).
- Keep the worn post. A shredded post looks and smells like your cat’s, which is why cats like it (ASPCA, Cornell).
With more than one cat, iCatCare recommends one post per cat plus one, in different places. Trimming claws helps protect furniture, but it doesn’t replace a post.
Talk to your vet
- Ask your vet to show you how to trim your kitten’s claws safely, and how often.
- If a cat’s claws look overgrown or thick, see your vet: iCatCare notes this can be a sign of a health problem, especially in older cats.
- Scratching all over the house, especially by doors and windows, can mean a cat feels insecure (iCatCare). Your vet can help you work out why.
- Declawing isn’t a fix for scratching. FelineVMA and AAHA oppose elective declawing: it amputates the last bone of each toe (FelineVMA).
Scratching post FAQ
How tall should a scratching post be for a kitten?
As tall as your kitten will be as an adult cat, standing on its hind legs and stretching up (Cornell, iCatCare). The three upright posts here are 31.5 to 35.4 inches tall. A short kitten post gets outgrown, and iCatCare says to upgrade it when your cat is grown.
Sisal or carpet?
Sisal suits most cats. The SF SPCA says claws can catch in carpet loops and that sisal is tough and long-lasting. Cornell suggests a carpet-covered post for a cat that already scratches carpet.
Do kittens need a cardboard scratcher too?
It helps. iCatCare says kittens may prefer softer, flat or angled cardboard because it takes less force, and the SF SPCA notes that some cats prefer to scratch flat along the floor. Offering one of each lets your kitten choose.
How many scratching posts do I need?
At least one per cat plus one, iCatCare says, placed in different spots: near where your cat sleeps and near anything it likes to scratch.
My kitten ignores the new post. What now?
Check it doesn’t wobble, move it next to where your kitten sleeps or scratches, and play with a wand toy at its base. iCatCare and the ASPCA both suggest catnip and treats; never push your kitten’s paws onto it.
Sources
- Cornell Feline Health Center: Destructive Behavior, management strategies for your cat’s innate behaviors (PDF), checked Oct 19, 2026
- International Cat Care: Scratching on furniture and carpets (updated Oct. 7, 2026), checked Oct 19, 2026
- ASPCA: Destructive Scratching, checked Oct 19, 2026
- San Francisco SPCA: Scratching Posts (PDF), checked Oct 19, 2026
- FelineVMA: Alternatives to Declawing (client brochure, 2024, PDF), checked Oct 19, 2026
- FelineVMA: Declawing position statement, checked Oct 19, 2026
- AAHA: Declawing position statement, checked Oct 19, 2026
- Pioneer Pet: SmartCat The Ultimate Scratching Post (#3832), checked Oct 19, 2026
- Pioneer Pet: Return policy, checked Oct 19, 2026
- Amazon Basics: Sturdy Cat Scratching Post, Large 35.4-inch (Amazon product listing and Amazon Private Brands limited warranty, read Oct 19, 2026)
- Purrfect Post: Purrfect Post Deluxe, checked Oct 19, 2026
- Purrfect Post: Purrfect Angle, checked Oct 19, 2026
- Purrfect Post: Return policy, checked Oct 19, 2026