How Much Is a Sphynx Cat? Real Kitten Prices from 22 Catteries (2026)
Built from dated data and expert sources, not hands-on pet testing. Facts and prices checked October 24, 2026. No affiliate links on this page. How we research
How much is a Sphynx cat? From a registered US cattery, plan on about $2,700 for a pet kitten. The median pet price is $2,675, and half the catteries start between $2,275 and $2,900 (22 catteries in 16 states, checked October 24, 2026). The full range of posted prices runs from $1,800 to $3,500, and odd eyes, blue eyes and breeding rights cost more.
That’s the kitten alone. Most catteries that state a deposit ask $500, and many say it’s non-refundable. The good news for your budget: 18 of the 22 include spay or neuter in the price. The first-year basics add roughly $439 to $1,686 (from our new kitten checklist). Every kitten price below comes from the catteries’ own websites. How we collected them is at the end.
On this page
- Sphynx kitten prices at a glance
- All 22 catteries, anonymized
- What the Sphynx price includes
- Deposits and extras
- Odd eyes, blue eyes and breeding rights
- Why Sphynx cats cost what they do
- How much does a Sphynx cost in the first year?
- Sphynx scams: check before you pay a deposit
- How we got these numbers
- Sphynx cost FAQ
Sphynx kitten prices at a glance
We recorded one number per cattery: the lowest price it posts for a standard pet Sphynx kitten under 6 months old. That’s a fixed price at 14 catteries, a “starting at” price at 3 and the low end of a posted pet range at 3. At the other 2, it’s the cheapest Sphynx kitten listed.
| Measure | Pet kitten price |
|---|---|
| Lowest | $1,800 |
| 25th percentile | $2,275 |
| Median | $2,675 |
| 75th percentile | $2,900 |
| Highest | $3,500 |
Prices bunch together for this breed. Eleven catteries start between $2,500 and $2,999, five between $2,000 and $2,499, and five at $3,000 or more. Only one starts under $2,000, at the low end of a posted range. Where a cattery posts a range, the top of it reaches $4,500.
Fresher pages were a little pricier. The 14 listings with a kitten, litter or update date from the past 12 months had a median of $2,775; the 8 undated ones, $2,550.
All 22 catteries, anonymized
We don’t name the catteries. We can’t vouch for any of them, and a named price goes out of date. Names and links stay in our data file. IDs starting with C came from CFA’s directory (four of those are in TICA’s list too), T from TICA’s.
| ID | State | Pet price | Basis | Spay/neuter | Deposit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| T16 | IL | $1,800 | Low end of range | Included | $300 |
| T45 | NC | $2,000 | Fixed | Not stated | Not stated |
| T50* | TN | $2,000 | Fixed | Included | Not stated |
| T29* | FL | $2,200 | Lowest listed kitten | Included | $500 |
| T53* | WA | $2,200 | Low end of range | Included | Not stated |
| T54 | WI | $2,200 | Lowest listed kitten | Included | $400 |
| C6 | Not stated | $2,500 | Fixed | Included | $500 |
| T13* | OR | $2,500 | Low end of range | Included | $500 |
| T43 | NC | $2,500 | Fixed | Included | $500 |
| T46 | OH | $2,500 | Fixed | Not stated | $500 |
| T22* | CA | $2,600 | Starting at | Included | Not stated |
| T49 | PA | $2,750 | Fixed | Included | $850 |
| C2 | NE | $2,800 | Fixed | Included | Not stated |
| C3 | AL | $2,900 | Fixed | Included | $500 |
| T8 | AL | $2,900 | Fixed | Included | $500 |
| T9* | TN | $2,900 | Fixed | Included | $600 |
| T40 | MO | $2,900 | Fixed | Included | $500 |
| C1 | MI | $3,000 | Fixed | Included | $1,500 |
| C5* | AL | $3,000 | Starting at | Not stated | $750 |
| T34* | IL | $3,000 | Fixed | Included | Not stated |
| T42 | NJ | $3,000 | Starting at | Not stated | Not stated |
| T38 | MA | $3,500 | Fixed | Included | Not stated |
An asterisk marks the 8 undated listings: their pages show no kitten, litter or update date from the past 12 months. One cattery doesn’t say which state it’s in.
What the Sphynx price includes
- Spay or neuter: 18 catteries include it, and the other 4 don’t say. None of the 22 leaves it to the buyer. Compare the Ragdoll: in our Ragdoll cost guide, only 15 of 31 catteries included it. On your own, the surgery cost $89 to $369 at the clinics in our checklist; our spay cost guide compares 24 clinics.
- Vaccines and a microchip: every cattery’s site mentions vaccines, and 15 of the 22 mention a microchip. Ask which shots are done, so you don’t pay twice. Our kitten vaccination schedule shows what a kitten needs and when.
- Short-term insurance and guarantees: 15 of the 22 mention about a month of free pet insurance. Three give a heart (HCM) guarantee, of 3 or 5 years. Read what a guarantee actually pays for before you rely on it, and see what cat insurance covers for the longer term.
- Registration: all 22 are listed with CFA or TICA, which is where we found them. We record that as claimed and didn’t check each one with the registries.
Deposits and extras
- Deposit: 14 catteries state an amount to reserve a kitten, from $300 to $1,500. The median is $500, and 8 ask exactly $500. The $1,500 is half the price, which one cattery asks once you pick a kitten. Many say the deposit is non-refundable, so read the terms before you pay.
- Waiting lists: 12 catteries also take a waiting-list deposit or fee, from $50 to $200. It usually counts toward the price.
- Delivery: about $1 per mile by car at two catteries, $650 and up for a flight to your airport at one, and $500 to $900 for a flight nanny at another.
- Financing: two catteries offer financing with a 6% fee; at both, the deposit can’t be financed.
- Two kittens: three take $200 or $300 off when you buy two. CFA says the breed does best with other cats, and suggests owners consider a pair.
Odd eyes, blue eyes and breeding rights
The entry prices above are for standard pet kittens. Many Sphynx catteries post higher prices for eye color:
- Odd eyes or dominant blue eyes: 11 of the 22 catteries post a separate price for them, from $3,000 to “$4,000+”. That’s $100 to $1,000 more than the same cattery’s standard kitten.
- Breeding rights: four post a breeding price, from $4,000 to “$6000 and up”, or $1,000 on top of the pet price. Three say they don’t sell breeding rights at all.
- Coated kittens: the hairless gene is recessive, CFA explains, so coated Sphynx are occasionally available, at lower prices. Two catteries in our data list coated outcross kittens for $500 to $1,200. They have the breed’s personality but not the hairless look, and they aren’t in our numbers.
- Retired adults: two list retired adults, from $1,500. If you don’t need a young kitten, ask.
Why Sphynx cats cost what they do
A young breed with a small breeding pool. CFA’s breed profile traces today’s Sphynx to a hairless kitten born in Toronto in 1966, from a natural recessive gene. Breeders outcrossed to coated cats for about 30 years to build a sound gene pool. CFA accepted the breed in 1998 and says plainly that Sphynx are “among the higher-priced cat breeds.”
Health testing. CFA calls the Sphynx generally robust, but it names breed-specific issues to watch:
- Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM): it thickens the heart muscle. The Cornell Feline Health Center calls it the most common heart disease of cats and lists the Sphynx among the breeds where it’s more common. CFA says testing for HCM has helped breeders keep the gene pool healthy. Ask how the parents were screened.
- Other issues CFA lists: breathing problems in young kittens, a hereditary muscle disease (myopathy), sensitive digestion, and sometimes skin conditions and gum disease.
Talk to your vet
- Ask the breeder for both parents’ heart-screening reports, and show them to your vet.
- Cornell lists labored or fast breathing, open-mouthed breathing, lethargy and sudden pain or paralysis in the back legs among the signs of HCM. Call your vet right away if you see them.
- Ask your vet how to care for your Sphynx’s skin, ears and teeth, and how often to bathe it.
How much does a Sphynx cost in the first year?
Add the start-up costs from our new kitten checklist, checked October 7, 2026. Must-have supplies cost $131 to $349. First vet care, with exams, vaccines, tests, a microchip and spay or neuter, costs $308 to $1,158. All in, the checklist puts the start-up costs at about $439 to $1,686. With a $2,675 kitten, that’s roughly $3,114 to $4,361, before delivery and before the ongoing cost of food and litter. Since most Sphynx catteries include the spay or neuter and the first shots, your first vet bill may sit near the low end.
Three things to plan for with this breed:
- Baths. CFA says the Sphynx’s skin is very oily and needs regular bathing. Budget for a gentle cat shampoo and soft towels, and ask your vet what to use.
- Warmth and company. CFA describes the breed as a heat-seeker that doesn’t do well left alone for long. A warm bed, and maybe a second cat, belong in the budget.
- Allergies. A Sphynx isn’t a fix for cat allergies. CFA says bathing reduces the allergens on the skin, but that this doesn’t make it a low-allergen cat. Spend time with the breed before you commit.
Pet insurance is worth pricing early for a breed with known heart risks. Our cat insurance cost guide shows insurers’ published prices, and is pet insurance worth it for a kitten weighs the decision.
Sphynx scams: check before you pay a deposit
Fake sellers use popular breeds as bait. The script is the usual one: cute pictures, a low price, a deposit, then “shipping” fees and no kitten.
Our data gives you a yardstick. Only one of the 22 registered catteries started under $2,000, and none under $1,800. A Sphynx kitten advertised for a few hundred dollars is a red flag. (A coated outcross kitten from a registered cattery is the honest exception, and it’s sold as coated.) Reach a cattery through contact details you found yourself, such as a registry listing, not through an ad. Our guide on how to contact a cat breeder shows what a good first message covers. Before you send a deposit, run the checks in how to spot a kitten scam, and see questions to ask a cat breeder.
How we got these numbers
How we got these numbers
- Where: two registry directories, on October 24, 2026. We opened all 7 Sphynx listings in CFA’s Find a Breeder (6 websites). TICA’s breeder listing links to 34 US Sphynx cattery websites, and we opened every one of them, with no sampling. Four catteries are in both lists, so we read 36 websites in all. We recorded only what each cattery’s own website showed that day.
- Rules: a US cattery that claims CFA or TICA registration and posts a dollar price for a standard pet Sphynx kitten under 6 months (fixed, “starting at” or a range). No odd-eye, blue-eye, show or breeding prices, no coated outcross kittens, no retired adults or kittens over 6 months. One record per cattery.
- What passed: 22 catteries in 16 states (one doesn’t say where it is). Of the 14 turned away, 9 posted no price of their own, 3 sites were down, 1 posted prices only for another breed, and 1 imports kittens from abroad.
- Math: one number per cattery, its lowest posted pet price. Percentiles use linear interpolation (Excel’s PERCENTILE.INC). Taxes, deposits and fees aren’t added.
- Checks: after building the data file, we matched each price, date, deposit and spay/neuter term against the saved page text, word for word.
Limits of this data:
- These are asking prices. Some catteries discount a second kitten or a returning buyer.
- Catteries listed with neither registry are missing.
- Nine of the 36 cattery websites we opened posted no price, so posted prices may not match what quiet catteries charge.
- No listing came from at least 33 states, including Texas, Georgia, Arizona and Colorado. This isn’t a random national sample.
- Registration and health claims are as the catteries state them.
- Re-check, October 31, 2026: we re-opened all 22 pages the day this guide went live (one of them in a normal browser view, because it draws its text with scripts). Every price in the tables still shows on its cattery’s page.
- We’ll re-check every price in early January 2027.
Sphynx cost FAQ
How much is a Sphynx kitten?
At registered US catteries, a pet kitten’s price typically starts between $2,275 and $2,900, with a median of $2,675 (22 catteries, checked October 24, 2026). The lowest posted pet price was $1,800 and the highest $3,500. Odd or blue eyes, breeding rights and delivery cost more.
Why are Sphynx cats so expensive?
Good breeders have costs: heart screening for the parents, vet visits, first vaccines, and at most Sphynx catteries, spay or neuter before the kitten leaves. The breed is also young, with a small breeding pool, and CFA itself calls it one of the higher-priced breeds.
Is a cheap Sphynx kitten a scam?
Often it is. Only one of the 22 catteries in our data started under $2,000. A very low price, pressure to pay fast, or a request for a gift card, wire or payment app are classic warning signs. See how to spot a kitten scam.
Do Sphynx kittens come spayed or neutered?
Usually, in our data: 18 of the 22 catteries include it, and the other 4 don’t say. Ask before you pay.
Is a Sphynx more expensive than a Ragdoll or a Maine Coon?
It sits between them. The median pet price was $2,675 for a Sphynx here, $2,500 for a Ragdoll in our Ragdoll cost guide and $3,000 for a Maine Coon in our Maine Coon cost guide, checked on different days in October 2026 with similar rules. The British Shorthair’s median was $2,750 in our British Shorthair cost guide.
Sources
- Our data: posted pet-kitten prices at 22 US Sphynx catteries listed with CFA or TICA, collected Oct 24, 2026
- CFA: Find a Breeder, Sphynx listings, checked Oct 24, 2026
- TICA: Browse All Breeders, Sphynx, checked Oct 24, 2026
- CFA: Sphynx breed profile, checked Oct 24, 2026
- Cornell Feline Health Center: Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy, checked Oct 24, 2026